Podcasting part 2: Making a Podcast

I eventually decided to use Garageband software to record my podcast(s) because this was software I already had on the computer and I was having some technical difficulties with Audacity. This was a much simpler process as I was able to export the audio as Mp3 files without having to use Lame in addition to Audacity. The first podcast was scripted because I wanted to say something specific and was not confident I would be able to get everything across that I had wanted to, I was also referring to a specific quotation. I reflected in my podcast that more experience, analysis and experimentation would be needed to help me to gain confidence in making one without a script. Even scripted, it was difficult, probably more difficult in some ways than just talking. I became aware of the voice patterns I was making, the wrong emphasis being made at times as well as the awkward and stilted moments.

I discussed the ‘explaining voice’ in my podcast which was fun to be talking about, especially when I was probably demonstrating it so badly! This in itself has enabled me to consider what the ‘explaining voice’ might mean in more depth as well as give me an insight into the nuances of recording audio. I made some notes straight after the final version was recorded, I think there must have been about ten attempts before I settled with the final one and straight after this I made an unscripted podcast which analysed my experience. I found the analysis recording really useful to do because I was able to examine the ‘explaining voice’ ideas further through demonstration as well as being able to reflect upon my experience.

Out of both experiences I preferred the second, unscripted recording, but would have struggled to do this with the initial content I was communicating. Perhaps this emphasises the importance of selecting content to podcast that you have a complete sense of ownership over or are able to talk to your audience rather than from a sheet of paper. I felt that reading the script was a passive experience for me and this came across and made this a less engaging podcast. In order to develop the sense of learning emerging and being constructed together, between learner and speaker, the words need to happen spontaneously rather than be rehearsed.

The podcasts can be listened to here:

Podcasts link

References:

O’Connor, M. (2010) ‘The learning and teaching partnership of the community radio and tertiary education sectors at radio Adelaide, 2SER and 2MCE’, Electronic Journal of Learning and Teaching (E-JoLT) Issue 6, August. 

Author: feltlikeit

Artist & Lecturer

3 thoughts on “Podcasting part 2: Making a Podcast”

  1. Hi Jo,

    This is a very interesting set of two podcasts – the second being a reflection on issues from the first.

    Your voice is clear and you have varied the pitch. Take care not to drop your voice too much – in places, voice is rather quiet at these times.

    There is no ‘buzz’ or background noise: the only ‘noise’ is the ‘switch off’ clunk!

    As you identify – reading from a script does give it a more ‘formal’/passive quality. (You have picked up on this pointboth here and in your second podcast).

    The topic in podcast 1 is very interesting, well-thought-through and relevant – and the podcast is a good length. the second is shorter and reflective, demonstrating (and well as discussing ) the changes and benefits of a non-scripted approach.

    You might consider giving a summary/endings to your podcasts.

    Very well done! An excellent illustration of the points you raise.

    Anne

    1. Thanks Anne for your feedback – I think it would be interesting to research into the optimum time for a podcast. I imagine on some level it depends on the content and presentation but in terms of making podcasts for my students regarding elements of their course, length of recording, would be an interesting aspect to explore.

  2. Around 10-12 mins. is usually a good ‘rule of thumb’ – depending, as you say, on content, delivery, audience etc. – some may start to ‘nod off’ much sooner!

    You should be able to find ‘good practice’ guidelines on this…..

    BW
    Anne

Leave a comment