Disruptive process

The process has had a long pause while other things, work, life and additional strands to my research have taken over. Documenting the drawing process and the early stages of making a piece of work were easy (easier) and a relief almost to capture those starting points and early stages of reflective activity that feel inspiring and slightly chaotic. This is what it feels like to me anyway. I have continued to think about what I have done, talked to people about it and put things in place so that I can have a final goal to aim for in terms of exhibiting something at the end or talking about what I have done. These have been distraction activities and disrupted what might otherwise have been a continuous flow of process, making and documenting.

Rather than feel stuck by this I am embracing it as part of the process and necessary to my process, for this particular piece of work anyway. The process is a mixture of hunches and anticipating what is next with the results either surprising me or confirming to my pre-action reflection. Because aspects of the work now include videos there are challenges of how to incorporate these without the work becoming about the technology. It is important for me to make the process visible but to keep the mechanics of the technology as invisible as possible – the work is not about the technology but about what is revealed through the media used, rather than how it is revealed. The technology used is an enabler, not the content or focus, however, the technology does change how the message is seen in the same way a drawing medium will alter an image or the way an image is communicated. There are also implications for how reflections are captured, different forms of technology will enable different ways to reflect and each will impact on what is reflected.

Reengaging and disengaging are perhaps important parts of my process where there may at times be little happening both internally or externally. The work is quiescent, waiting for reengagement, future rediscovery or reinterpretation. The amount of reflection that has been enabled by this documentation process has illustrated to me how iterative my ideas, processes and interests are. For much of my degree work I was preoccupied with how objects end up in collections, what is collected, how it is collected and how it is displayed. An interest in cataloguing and documenting as well as museums as repositories of knowledge have been revisited in the form of the ‘book of knowledge’ as a portable museum of image and text. As a fine artist primarily concerned with painting and drawing it was my need to use materials that were appropriate to my ideas that led me into photography and textiles, occasionally making sculptural work if necessary. For students does this become difficult when they are only just starting to consider what their interests and ‘ways in’ are, do they have enough perspective to see what patterns are emerging?

I am going to make further responses to my drawing using different ways in to explore and experiment with the recorded form. Each drawing and exploration will bring something different to the imagery and the materials used will contribute some of their own message. In parallel to this I need to explore how my recordings as visuals and audio will become the physical piece as well.

Author: feltlikeit

Artist & Lecturer

Leave a Reply

