The creative journey – starting point and creative ideas

The themes in my work are often based around childhood and/or found objects that interest me. I often start the creative process with photographs, objects and sketches. I see this stage as ‘ideas research’ and it often involves revisiting existing work or developing unresolved pieces. For this research I started with a photograph of myself as a child (fig 1) – the main focus and interest in this image was the ice cream. I often find it interesting to make relationships between objects and imagery and after finding an ornament of a boy with an ice cream (fig 2) this became the theme for the work.

Fig 1
fig 2
Author: feltlikeit

Artist & Lecturer

Leave a Reply

